NIFTY 50

Opposition parties submit notice for impeach CJI

Updated : April 20, 2018 09:53:27 IST

In an unprecedented move, the Congress along with six other opposition parties, met the Vice President on Friday and submitted a notice for the impeachment of the Chief Justice of India, Dipak Misra.

Seventy one opposition MPs had signed the impeachment motion, but seven of them have retired now, leaving the number at 64.

The parties that have signed the motion include the Congress, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Samajwadi Party, NCP, CPI, and Indian Union Muslim League.
cnbc two logos
To keep watching CNBC-TV18, India's No. 1 English Business News Channel, call your Cable or DTH Operator and subscribe now for just Rs. 4 per month. You can also subscribe to CNBC-TV18 Prime HD for Re 1/- per month.Find out more
Live TV

recommended for you