NIFTY 50

Mumbai Lok Sabha Elections: Key issues and prominent candidates in the financial capital

Updated : April 29, 2019 09:28 AM IST

On Monday, the financial capital comprising of six key constituencies is voting in phase four of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. In 2014, the voter turnout in this area was about 53 percent, which means that just about half of the city's population voted. It will be interesting to see if the voter turnout surpasses last time's numbers.

First is the Mumbai South constituency consisting of voters spreading from Colaba to Worli. It's going to be a two-cornered fierce battle between Shiv Sena’s sitting MP Arvind Sawant and Congress’ Milind Deora.

While the South Central constituency of Mumbai is expected to see a tough battle between Shiv Sena's Rahul Shivale and Congress' Eknath Gaikwad. The constituency is spread across areas of Anushakti Nagar, Sion, Wadala, Koliwada, Chembur and most importantly Dharavi.

Once hailed as the Congress bastion, the Mumbai North Central constituency saw the tables being turned in the 2014 general elections. While 27 candidates from across parties will be slugging it out for this high profile seat this time, the two key candidates to watch out for will be the sitting MP from BJP, Poonam Mahajan and her rival from Congress, Priya Dutt.

While Mahajan may have secured a 1.86 lakh voter lead in the last general elections of 2014, Priya Dutt too has had her share of wins in the 2004 and 2009 general elections.

Mumbai North West constituency has about 17 lakh voters from Andheri right up to Jogeshwari, Dindoshi. Traffic congestion, development, and water shortage are the key issues in this area. The two players battling it out are Shiv Sena’s sitting MP Gajanan Kirtikar and Congress' Sanjay Nirupam who lost by 4.5 lakh votes in 2014. A wild card entry Subhash Pasi, an MLA from UP is contesting and he may be a possible dilutant for the UPA and NDA vote base here.

For the Mumbai North constituency, it is a two-cornered battle between incumbent MP Gopal Shetty from the BJP-Shiv Sena combine who had defeated Congress' Sanjay Nirupam last election with a huge margin of over 4 lakh votes. He is pitted against film star turned politician and political novice Urmila Matondkar who has been fielded by the grand old party.

The Mumbai North East constituency spans Vikhroli, Ghatkopar, Mankhurd, Bhandup, and parts of Powai.  The BJP decided to field Corporator Manoj Kotak against the NCP’s Sanjay Dina Patil. However, the X-factor could very well be MNS’s Raj Thackeray who may not be contesting but has been campaigning against the BJP because about 50 percent of the 15 lakh voters are Maharashtrians.
primo org
Have you signed up for Primo, our daily newsletter?
It has all the stories and data on the market, business, economy and tech that you need to know.
cnbc two logos
To keep watching CNBC-TV18, India's No. 1 English Business News Channel, call your Cable or DTH Operator and subscribe now for just Rs. 4 per month. You can also subscribe to CNBC-TV18 Prime HD for Re 1/- per month.Find out more
Live TV