Motilal Oswal
    NIFTY 50
Motilal Oswal

PM Narendra Modi inaugurates the National War Memorial in Delhi

Updated : February 25, 2019 08:20 PM IST

PM Modi inaugurated the National War Memorial. The memorial is spread over 40 acres.

It has 4 concentric circles - Amar Chakra (circle of immortality), Veerta Chakra (circle of bravery), Tyag chakra (circle of sacrifice) and Rakshak Chakra (circle of protection)

Amar Chakra includes a central obelisk and an eternal flame. Veerta Chakra has 6 bronze murals depicting famous battles fought by the defence forces

Tyag Chakra has 16 walls which pay homage to the 25,942 battle casualties. Names of soldiers who have laid down their lives have been inscribed in golden letters on granite tablets arranged in a circular pattern. This symbolises the ancient Indian war formation, 'Chakravyuh.'
primo org
Have you signed up for Primo, our daily newsletter?
It has all the stories and data on the market, business, economy and tech that you need to know.
cnbc two logos
To keep watching CNBC-TV18, India's No. 1 English Business News Channel, call your Cable or DTH Operator and subscribe now for just Rs. 4 per month. You can also subscribe to CNBC-TV18 Prime HD for Re 1/- per month.Find out more
Live TV