NIFTY 50

Here are the big appointments of 2018

Updated : December 29, 2018 10:16:21 IST

As the year 2018 winds down...

Here are some of the big appointments

Shaktikanta Das

Shaktikanta Das took charge as the 25th governor of RBI. The former eco affairs secy succeeded Urjit Patel.

Urjit Patel quit citing personal reasons.

Amitabh Chaudhry

Amitabh Chaudhry is Axis bank's new md and ceo. Chaudhry's three-year term will begin on January 1, 2019.

He was the MD and CEO of HDFC Standard Life Insurance Co

Sandeep bakhshi

ICICI bank appointed Sandeep Bakhshi as its MD and CEO. Bakhshi was elevated from the COO's post after Chanda Kochhar resigned.

Bakhshi joined the ICICI group in 1986.

Salil Parekh

Salil Parekh took over as Infosys' MD and CEO earlier this year. Parekh has been appointed for a five-year term effective January 2, 2018.

Balesh Sharma

Balesh Sharma appointed first CEO of Vodafone Idea.

Aditya Ghosh

Aditya Ghosh is Oyo hotels' new CEO for India and South Asia

Ghosh stepped down as President of Indigo in July this year.

Abhijit Bose

Whatsapp appointed Abhijit Bose as its India head.

Bose is the co-founder and CEO of electronic payments co EzeTap.

Piyush Pandey

Ogilvy named Piyush Pandey as its chief creative officer, worldwide

Pandey to retain his post as exec chairman & creative director at Ogilvy South Asia.

Krishnamurthy Subramanian

Krishnamurthy Subramanian has been appointed chief eco adviser for 3 years.

Subramanian is an IIT-IIM alumnus and has a PhD from Chicago booth.

Ajay Narayan Jha

Expenditure secretary an Jha has become the new finance secretary

The 1982-batch Manipur cadre IAS officer was set to retire on January 31, 2019.

Ajay Bhushan Pandey

UIDAI ceo Ajay Bhushan Pandey took over as the new revenue secy.

He replaced Hasmukh Adhia who retired in Nov, 2018.

Ashok Kumar Gupta

FMR IAS officer Ashok Kumar Gupta appointed Competition Commission of India chairman.

Subhash Chandra Khuntia

Subhash Chandra Khuntia was appointed IRDA chairman. Khuntia succeeded TS Vijayan who completed his five-year term in February, 2018.

Justice Ranjan Gogoi

Justice Ranjan Gogoi took oath as the 46th Chief Justice of India.

He succeeded justice Dipak Misra who retired on Oct 1, 2018.

K Sivan

K Sivan is the new chairman of Indian Space Research Org (ISRO).

Sivan replaced as Kiran Kumar as ISRO chief.
cnbc two logos
To keep watching CNBC-TV18, India's No. 1 English Business News Channel, call your Cable or DTH Operator and subscribe now for just Rs. 4 per month. You can also subscribe to CNBC-TV18 Prime HD for Re 1/- per month.Find out more
Live TV

recommended for you