NIFTY 50

CBSE to conduct CTET exam in 20 languages as directed by HRD minister Prakash Javadekar

Updated : June 19, 2018 07:44 PM IST

HRD minister Prakash Javadekar has directed CBSE to conduct the national teachers' test CTET in all languages.

The CTET was earlier conducted in 20 languages but the CBSE had decided to drop 17 languages. Options for candidates were limited to just English, Hindi  and Sanskrit.

This move would have been a big disadvantage for aspirants from India's southern states.

CTET is mandatory for appointment of teachers in Kendriya Vidyalayas  and private CBSE-affiliated schools.

CBSE faced considerable backlash for its decision to limit the test to three languages. DMK leader MK Kanimozhi condemned the decision  and tweeted that 'students of CBSE whose mother tongue is Tamil will be put to a great disadvantage without teachers'.

HRD minister Javadekar has now directed CBSE to go back to its earlier format.

The exam will be conducted in English, Hindi, Sanskrit, Assamese, Bangla, Garo, Gujarati, Kanada, Khasi, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Mizo, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Tamil, Telugu, Tibetan and Urdu.

The 11th edition of CTET will be conducted in 92 cities on September 16.
cnbc two logos
To keep watching CNBC-TV18, India's No. 1 English Business News Channel, call your Cable or DTH Operator and subscribe now for just Rs. 4 per month. You can also subscribe to CNBC-TV18 Prime HD for Re 1/- per month.Find out more
Live TV

recommended for you