Search giant Google this week made two major updates on its home apps, which include Google Maps, Google Photos and Google Drive.
Here's what we know so far: Google Maps Updates
For a while now, Google has been focussing on updating its Map app for India. According to
XDA Developers, the search giant added a safety feature in the app, which is a speedometer tool to alert users if they were driving at a higher than recommended speed.
The report also said the firm is testing another safety feature, where it lets the user know that the cab they are travelling in has gone off-route. This feature has only been tested in India so far.
The feature, the report said, is called the 'Stay Safer' option in the app. By tapping it, the feature can alert the user if the cab has been side-tracked from the intended route by 500 meters. It also lets the user share a live update of their trip to their contacts. The feature can also be useful if the user himself or herself is driving as it alerts the driver if he or she is going off-route.
In the first week of June,
Google also announced additional features for Indian commuters. It provides real-time updates such as the train’s arrival time, the best routes while commuting in an auto-rickshaw, bus updates, among others.
Another feature that is being introduced will combine suggestions of auto-rickshaw and public transport for users. These "India-first features" will allow users plan public transport trips quickly and easily, Google had said in a statement.
Google Drive and Google Photos Update
blog post, Google said it will end the integration of Google Drive and Google Photos. Many Google users store their photos and videos on both Google Drive and Google Photos, which has caused confusion. Based on user feedback, Google said it will be making some changes to make it easier for the users.
The changes will come into effect from July.
First, the firm will change to automatic syncing between Google Drive and Google Photos. From July, the photos and videos users save on Google Drive will no longer be copied on Google Photos and the same applies when saved on Google Photos.
In case the user deletes a file, it will not be a problem as Google will not sync the two services. This simply means that a particular picture deleted in Photos will not be deleted from your Drive account even if the photo is the same one.Soon, Google will show an “upload from Drive” option in Photos which will allow users to copy videos and photos from Drive to Photos. However, there may be repetition, in case the user has two versions of the same file.