'View once' feature now only available on Android devices.
Facebook-owned WhatsApp has started rolling out the disappearing photos feature for beta users. Known as 'view once,' it is similar to Instagram’s expiring media feature. The photo will disappear once the receiver has opened it and left the chat on WhatsApp. This feature is only available for Android WhatsApp users.
Recommended ArticlesView All
New Locker Rules — Here's why the RBI has gone overboard
Jan 28, 2023 IST5 Min(s) Read
Meet Padma Shri Awardee Guru K Kalyanasundaram Pillai, the man who is keeping an ancient tradition alive
Jan 27, 2023 IST3 Min(s) Read
This is how the new draft IT rules propose to make online gaming safe
Jan 27, 2023 IST4 Min(s) Read
78 percent Indian workers uneasy about job security amid layoffs: Survey
Jan 27, 2023 IST5 Min(s) Read
According to WaBetaInfo’s screenshots, users can send disappearing photos by choosing photos from the gallery. Once selected, tap on the clock-like icon. The app automatically displays this icon near the 'add a caption' bar. A user can send disappearing photos to anyone of their choice. The feature also allows videos and GIFs to disappear.
If the 'view once' button is not visible when sharing media it means your phone does not have this feature. Users can locate this feature in WhatsApp’s 184.108.40.206 Android version.
If a user disables read receipts, they can still see if the receiver has opened the photo or video set to view once. However, the sender will not know when the recipient opens the message though.
In case of group chats, users still have the option of seeing when other participants open expiring photos even if read receipts is disabled. In case a recipient saves or takes screenshots of the video or photo, WhatsApp will not notify the sender as there is no screenshot detection.
Contacts that have been blocked in common groups can still open photos and videos sent with the view once feature.
(Edited by : Shoma Bhattacharjee)
First Published: Jun 30, 2021 6:25 PM IST