homepolitics News

Narendra Modi swearing in ceremony: Here is the list of who is attending, who isn't

Narendra Modi swearing-in ceremony: Here is the list of who is attending, who isn't

Narendra Modi swearing-in ceremony: Here is the list of who is attending, who isn't
Profile image

By CNBC-TV18 May 30, 2019 3:03:01 PM IST (Updated)

कल बस्तर में पूर्व निर्धारित कार्यक्रमों के कारण मैं प्रधानमंत्री जी के शपथ ग्रहण समारोह में शामिल नहीं हो पा रहा हूँ।

Nearly 8,000 guests will attend the swearing-in of Prime Minister Narendra Modi at the Rashtrapati Bhavan on Thursday, making it the biggest-ever event held in the historic premises.

Recommended Articles

View All

While the guests attending the event will be treated to high tea, President Ram Nath Kovind will host a private dinner for the leaders from Bimstec countries as well as Kyrgyz President Sooronbay Jeenbekov and Mauritian Prime Minister Pravind Kumar Jugnauth - who have all confirmed their presence.
Here's a list of the big names will attend today's swearing-in ceremony:
Leaders of BIMSTEC countries, including Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena, Nepal Prime Minister K P Sharma Oli, President of Myanmar U Win Myint and Bhutanese Prime Minister Lotay Tshering, have already confirmed their attendance. President of Bangladesh Abdul Hamid has already reached for the ceremony yesterday.
From Thailand, its Special Envoy Grisada Boonrach will represent the country at the ceremony. Besides India, BIMSTEC (Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation) comprises Bangladesh, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Nepal, and Bhutan.
Other International Leaders
Kyrgyz President and the current chair of Shanghai Cooperation Organisation Sooronbay Jeenbekov, and Mauritius PM Pravind Kumar Jugnauth have confirmed their participation at the event.
Opposition Party
Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Congress President Rahul Gandhi and United Progressive Alliance chairperson and senior Congress leader Sonia Gandhi will attend the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister-elect Narendra Modi on Thursday, party leaders said. Senior party leader Anand Sharma will also be attending the ceremony.
Other Political Leaders
Shiv Sena President Uddhav Thackeray will attend the ceremony, accompanied by his wife Rashmi and son Aditya, party sources indicated here on Wednesday. Shiv Sena is the second largest constituent of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA), having a total of 18 MPs in the Lok Sabha and another three in Rajya Sabha.
Newly elected Andhra Pradesh chief minister Jagan Mohan Reddy will be present.
BJP's Karnataka state unit chief BS Yeddyurappa is among the select invitees from Karnataka going to Delhi for the grand swearing-in function.
Karnataka chief minister HD Kumaraswamy would attend the swearing-in ceremony as well.
Corporate Leaders
India's richest man and the chairman of Reliance Industries Limited, Mukesh Ambani will be attending the ceremony along with his wife Nita Ambani and mother Kokila Ben Ambani.
Uday Kotak, managing director of Kotak Mahindra Bank; Vedanta Limited's chairman Anil Agarwal; chairman of Mahindra Group, Anand Mahindra; HDFC chairman Deepak Parekh as well as Primal Group's Ajay Piramal will be in attendance at the ceremony today.
Bharti Airtel's Rajan and Rakesh Mittal will attend the ceremony.
Actor-turned-politicians Kamal Haasan and Rajnikanth will also be present at PM Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony.
Rakyesh Omprakash Mehra will also be attending the ceremony. The Bollywood director told ANI that he is fortunate to be a part of the ceremony.
Actor Anupam Kher will be attending the ceremony today at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. Speaking to ANI, he said, "It feels good to be a part of a historic event. Development was the focus for this Lok Sabha elections. As citizens of the country, it is time for us to also make our contribution to the country."
Who will not attend:
Mamata Banerjee
West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Wednesday announced that she will not attend Prime Minister Narendra Modi's swearing-in on Thursday, alleging the BJP was using the ceremony "to score political points". The Trinamool Congress chief's remark came after media reports said at least 70 family members of slain Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) activists in West Bengal had been invited to the ceremony as "special guests".
Naveen Patnaik
Odisha chief minister Naveen Patnaik, who took the oath to office for a fifth consecutive term, earlier on Wednesday, has denied the invitation but has conveyed good wishes to the prime minister and his council of ministers.
Bhupesh Baghel
Chhattisgarh chief minister Bhupesh Singh Bhaghel cited prior engagements as the reason for his inability to be present at the event.
Amrinder Singh
Punjab chief minister Capt. Amrinder Singh has declined the invitation to attend the ceremony.
Ashok Gehlot
The chief minister of Rajasthan, Ashok Gehlot has declined the invitation to attend the ceremony. The Congress leader tweeted saying:
Mizoram chief minister Zoramthanga
Mizoram chief minister, as well as president of the ruling Mizo National Front,  Zoramthanga will not attend the swearing-in ceremony, due to "tight official engagements," an official at the chief minister's office said.
Disclaimer: Network18, the parent company of CNBCTV18.com, is controlled by Independent Media Trust, of which Reliance Industries is the sole beneficiary.
Check out our in-depth Market Coverage, Business News & get real-time Stock Market Updates on CNBC-TV18. Also, Watch our channels CNBC-TV18, CNBC Awaaz and CNBC Bajar Live on-the-go!

Top Budget Opinions

    Most Read

    Market Movers

    View All
    Top GainersTop Losers