homepolitics NewsLok Sabha Election Results 2019: How women candidates fared

Lok Sabha Election Results 2019: How women candidates fared

Lok Sabha Election Results 2019: How women candidates fared
Profile image

By CNBC-TV18 May 24, 2019 1:14:10 PM IST (Updated)

There were a total of 724 women candidates that stood for the elections.

As many as 28 out of 41 sitting women MPs, including Sonia Gandhi, Hema Malini and Kirron Kher, retained their seats in Lok Sabha elections, but the likes of Smriti Irani and Pragya Thakur are likely to steal the show with the extent of their victories over their more renowned rivals.

Recommended Articles

View All

According to a research report by ADR, there were 724 women were in the fray, out of a total of 8,049 candidates. As many as 222 women contested the polls independently.
The Congress had fielded 54 women candidates. It was closely followed by the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which had fielded 53 women. Among the other national parties, the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) fielded 24 women candidates, the All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) 23, the CPI(M) 10, the CPI four, while the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) fielded one woman candidate.
Four transgender candidates contested the elections independently, while the AAP was the only party to field a transgender nominee. But all transgender candidates lost in the polls.
The highest number of candidates were fielded from Uttar Pradesh at 104, followed by Maharashtra. Sixty-four women candidates have been fielded from Tamil Nadu, 55 from Bihar and 54 from West Bengal.
Among the key women candidates, most of them won their respective seat this year, carrying on the trend of women making their mark in the country's political regime.
Here are prominent women candidates:
  • Sonia Gandhi, Congress — Raebareli, UP.
  • Smriti Irani, BJP — Amethi, UP.
  • Kirron Kher, BJP — Chandigarh.
  • Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur, BJP — Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh.
  • Supriya Sule, NCP — Baramati, Maharashtra.
  • Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) — Bathinda, Punjab.
  • MK Kanimozhi, DMK — Tuticorin, Tamil Nadu.
  • Hema Malini, BJP — Mathura, UP.
  • Sheila Dikshit, Congress — North East Delhi, (Lost).
  • Urmila Matondkar, Congress — Mumbai North (Lost).
  • Maneka Gandhi — Pilibhit, UP.
  • Dimple Yadav — Kannauj, UP.
  • Bankura TMC MP Moon Moon Sen who contested from Asansol, Congress Silchar MP Sushmita Dev, Supaul MP from Congress Ranjeet Ranjan, Bardhaman-Durgapur candidate Mamtaz Sanghamita from TMC, Hoogly MP Ratna De from TMC and Lalganj MP Neelam Sonkar are among the losers.
    Irani emerged as a giant-killer -- this time scripting a historic win by dethroning Rahul Gandhi in the Congress's home turf Amethi.
    The number of women politicians, who contest in elections, has regularly shown a dismal figure. This year, only nine percent, of the total candidates,  were women. In the 2014 elections, there were only 402 women candidates, of which 61 had won.
    The Women Reservation's Bill, which vouches for a 33 percent quota for women in the lower house parliament, is pending for the last nine years at the parliament.
    Check out our in-depth Market Coverage, Business News & get real-time Stock Market Updates on CNBC-TV18. Also, Watch our channels CNBC-TV18, CNBC Awaaz and CNBC Bajar Live on-the-go!

    Top Budget Opinions

      Most Read

      Market Movers

      View All
      Top GainersTop Losers