NIFTY 50

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Take a look at the Prime Ministers of India

Updated : 2019-04-10 12:48:40

The 17th Lok Sabha elections will be held in seven phases across two months, beginning April 11. About 90 crore voters will vote to choose the next prime minister of the country. The election results will be announced on May 23.

Jawaharlal Nehru was appointed the first prime minister of the country when India had gained independence from the British rule. Nehru served as the prime minister for almost 18 years from 1947 to 1964.

The 10th prime minister of the nation, Atal Bihari Vajpayee, had the shortest tenure of 13 days in 1996 and was again re-elected in 1998.

At least six leaders from the Congress party have held the prime ministerial seat in the country since the Independence while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has had two of its leader at the top position in the country.

Ahead of the Lok Sabha polls, take a look at the prime ministers of India.

Live TV