homepolitics NewsAssam Election Results 2021 HIGHLIGHTS: BJP led alliance set to form govt; All eyes on CM selection

Assam Election Results 2021 HIGHLIGHTS: BJP-led alliance set to form govt; All eyes on CM selection

Assam Election Results 2021 HIGHLIGHTS: BJP-led alliance set to form govt; All eyes on CM selection
Read Time

Assam Election Results 2021 HIGHLIGHTS: The BJP-led alliance in Assam isall set to form the government for the second successive term winning 75 of the 126 seats declared. The opposition 'Grand Alliance' comprising the Congress, AIUDF and eight other parties, has won 51 seats.  Here are the main highlights:

Live Updates

As counting of votes continues, the final overall results could be released early on May 3. Do join us tomorrow for more news, views and LIVE updates from the 2021 assembly elections. Until then stay safe and stay tuned to CNBCTV18.com

May 2, 2021 11:34 PM

Congress's Assam president Ripun Bora resigns 

Assam Assembly polls results 2021: Congress's Assam president Ripun Bora, in a letter to Sonia Gandhi, resigns after the poll debacle.

May 2, 2021 10:04 PM

Bongaigaon: AGP candidate and Assam Minister Phanibhushan Choudhury defeated Shankar Prasad Ray by 38,167 votes. 

Dibrugarh: BJP's Prasanta Phukan defeated Raj Kumar Nilantra by 38,025 votes

Sadiya: BJP's Bolin Chetia defeats Lakhim Chandra Chetia by 22,084 votes Doomdooma: BJP's Rupesh Gowala defeated sitting Congress MLA Durga Bhumij by 8,138 votes.

May 2, 2021 9:51 PM

Assam CM Sarbananda Sonowal wins from Majuli constituency: Election Commission of India

May 2, 2021 9:35 PM

Himanta Biswa Sarma wins Jalukbari Assembly seat by over 1 lakh vote margin.

May 2, 2021 9:14 PM

Assam election results 2021 Live Updates: BJP candidate and Assam minister Ranjit Dutta defeated his nearest Independent rival Jayanta Dutta by 29,839 votes to retain Behali seat

May 2, 2021 8:31 PM

Union Minister Amit Shah congratulates BJP leaders, workers for winning Assam Assembly elections

May 2, 2021 8:20 PM

BJP committed to develop all communities in Assam: Ranjeet Dass

With the saffron party all set to retain power in Assam, the party's state chief Ranjeet Kumar Dass on Sunday said the BJP-led alliance is committed to develop all the communities of the state with blessings of the people. He also thanked every party worker, state and national leaders of the party for their hard work and sacrifice for this result.

May 2, 2021 7:53 PM

Humbly accept people's mandate: Rahul Gandhi after Assembly poll results

 After the party's poor performance in assembly elections in five states, Congress leader Rahul Gandhi on Sunday said it humbly accepts the people's mandate and it will continue to fight for its values and ideals. "We humbly accept the people's mandate. Sincere gratitude to our workers and the millions of people who supported us on the ground. We will continue to fight for our values and ideals. Jai Hind," Gandhi said

May 2, 2021 7:35 PM

Party will take a call on Chief Minister position: Jitendra Singh

The choice of leader of the legislative party is something which is decided by democratic means. Once results are notified&assembly is constituted,a due decision would be taken with cognizance of highest opulence of our party, said BJP leader and Union Minister Jitendra Singh 

May 2, 2021 7:10 PM

 Assam election results 2021 Live Updates: Independent candidate and activists Akhil Gogoi has won from Sibsagar Constituency

May 2, 2021 7:03 PM

Assam BJP not to celebrate victory in polls

The BJP, which is heading for a win in Assam as indicated by trends, on Sunday decided not to celebrate the victory in compliance with the direction of the Election Commission (EC) prohibiting victory processions during or after the counting of votes in view of surging COVID-19 cases. State BJP chief spokesperson Rupam Goswami told PTI that supporters were told to follow the COVID-related guidelines issued by the EC and not to gather at the party head office in Guwahati.

May 2, 2021 6:45 PM

CM Sonowal expresses gratitude to PM Narendra Modi

May 2, 2021 6:37 PM

Assam election results 2021 Live UpdatesMajendra Narzary of BPF leading by 7,583 in Gossaigaon seat

May 2, 2021 5:55 PM

Assam Chief Minister Sarbanand Sonowal who was leading in the race has won once again from Majuli Constituency.

May 2, 2021 5:43 PM

Top Budget Opinions

    Most Read

    Market Movers

    View All
    Top GainersTop Losers