Homephotos Newsindia News

Presidents of India: Know who all have been in country's top constitutional post

Presidents of India: Know who all have been in country's top constitutional post

Presidents of India: Know who all have been in country's top constitutional post
Read Time
3 Min(s) Read
Profile image

By CNBCTV18.com Jul 25, 2022 1:29:14 PM IST (Updated)

Switch to Slide Show


As voting for the presidential poll concludes on Monday with over 99 percent of the eligible electorate exercising their franchise, the jury is set to be out on July 24. NDA's candidate Droupadi Murmu has a clear edge over the opposition’s Yashwant Sinha and is likely to become the first tribal President of India. Here is a look at the Presidents of India

1 / 8

Droupadi Murmu | Droupadi Murmu took the oath as India’s 15th President on July 25 2022. She is India’s first tribal President and the first President to be born after independence. She is also the youngest to occupy the top post and the second woman to become the President.

2 / 8

Ram Nath Kovind and Pranab Mukherjee | The incumbent President of India, Ram Nath Kovind, served as the governor of Bihar before being elevated to the country's top post. He was a lawyer and practised in the Delhi High Court and the Supreme Court of India. Pranab Mukherjee served as the 13th president of India and was a senior leader in the Indian National Congress. He occupied several ministerial portfolios in Manmohan Singh's and Indira Gandhi's Cabinet.

3 / 8

Pratibha Patil and APJ Abdul Kalam | Pratibha Patil was India's first and to date, the only female president of India. She was a member of the Indian National Congress and had previously served as the Governor of Rajasthan. Also known as the 'Missile Man of India' for his work on developing ballistic missiles, APJ Abdul Kalam was a scientist associated with DRDO and ISRO. He played an instrumental role in Pokhran-II nuclear tests.

4 / 8

KR Narayanan and Shankar Dayal Sharma | President KR Narayanan was a diplomat, academician and politician who served as Vice-President earlier. Before his presidency, Shankar Dayal Sharma had been the eighth vice-president of India under President R Venkataraman.

5 / 8

Ramaswamy Venkatraman and Giani Zail Singh | President Ramaswamy Venkataraman was an Indian independence activist and participated in the Quit India Movement. He also served as a Union minister. Former CM of Punjab, President Giani Zail Singh, was the first Sikh to hold office. He also served as the chairman of the Non-Aligned Movement from 1983 to 1986.

6 / 8

Neelam Sanjiva Reddy and Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed | Neelam Sanjiva Reddy was India's youngest ever President. He was the first CM of Andhra Pradesh, a two-time Speaker of the Lok Sabha and a Union minister. President Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed was a lawyer and also the second President of India to die in office.

7 / 8

Varahagiri Venkata Giri and Zakir Hussain | Verahagiri Venkata Giri was the only president to be elected as an independent candidate and earlier served as the Vice-President. Zakir Hussain was an economist and politician who served as the third president of India. He also served as Governor of Bihar earlier.

8 / 8

Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan and Rajendra Prasad | President Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan was a philosopher and a politician who served as the second president of India from 1962 to 1967. He was also the first vice-president of India under Rajendra Prasad. India's first President Rajendra Prasad was an Indian independence activist and lawyer who participated in Salt Satyagraha and the Quit India movement.

Check out our in-depth Market Coverage, Business News & get real-time Stock Market Updates on CNBC-TV18. Also, Watch our channels CNBC-TV18, CNBC Awaaz and CNBC Bajar Live on-the-go!
arrow down