Homephotos Newsbuzz News

    Republic Day 2019: Pranab Mukherjee, Kadar Khan, Kuldip Nayar, among others to be presented with Bharat Ratna, Padma Awards

    Republic Day 2019: Pranab Mukherjee, Kadar Khan, Kuldip Nayar, among others to be presented with Bharat Ratna, Padma Awards

    Republic Day 2019: Pranab Mukherjee, Kadar Khan, Kuldip Nayar, among others to be presented with Bharat Ratna, Padma Awards
    Profile image

    By CNBC-TV18  IST (Published)

    Switch to Slide Show


    The government announced names of the Bharat Ratna and Padma awardees 2019 on the eve of the 70th Republic Day. The Awards are given in various disciplines or fields of activities which includes – art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, among others. The President's Office on Friday conferred the country's highest civilian award Bharat Ratna to Nanaji Deshmukh, Dr Bhupen Hazarika and Pranab Mukherjee. President of Djibouti Ismail Omar Guelleh, late journalist Kuldip Nayar and late actor Kadar Khan were among the 112 prominent personalities who were named for conferment of this year's Padma awards. Mountaineer Bachendri Pal was conferred with the Padma Bhushan, India's third highest civilian award, while Gautam Gambhir, Bajrang Punia and Sunil Chhetri, among others, received the Padma Shri. Take a look at some of the awardees:

    1 / 13

    Bharat Ratna: Former President Pranab Mukherjee (Politics): The 83-year-old Mukherjee, who was also known as the quintessential Man Friday of the Congress, joins the elite club with Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, Rajendra Prasad, Zakir Hussain and V V Giri who had been conferred the coveted award. (Image Source: Reuters)

    2 / 13

    Bharat Ratna: Bhupen Hazarika (Art): Born in 1926, Hazarika was an playback singer, lyricist, musician, singer, poet and film-maker from Assam. A recipient of Sangeet Natak Akademi Award (1987), Padmashri (1977), Padmabhushan (2001) and Padma Vibhushan (2012-posthumously), Hazarika was also awarded with Dada Saheb Phalke Award in 1992. (Photo: IANS)

    3 / 13

    Bharat Ratna: Nanaji Deshmukh (Social Work): Deshmukh was a social activist, who was worked in the fields of education, health and rural self-reliance, and was honoured with the Padma Vibhushan by the government of India. He was a leader of the Bharatiya Jana Sangh and also a member of the Rajya Sabha. Deshmukh was associated with Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh since 1928 till his death in Satna, Madhya Pradesh, in 2010 at the age of 94 and was known for starting the chain of RSS inspired schools throughout India. (Photo: IANS/PIB)

    4 / 13

    Padma Vibhushan: Ismail Omer Guelleh (Foreigner) – Public Affairs: The President of Djibouti was awarded the second highest civilian award of India. Djibouti is strategically placed in Africa with US, France and Japan having a presence there. However, the importance of the country rose when China set up its first overseas naval base there. President Guelleh has been constantly wooed by the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. (Image Source: Reuters)

    5 / 13

    Padma Vibhushan: Balwant Moreshwar Purandare (Art/Acting/Theatre): Balwant Moreshwar Purandare or Babasaheb Purandare was awarded the second-highest civilian award, for contribution in the field of art-acting-theatre. Purandare said this award is not just an honour but an encouragement and inspiration to continue the work he has been doing for the last 50 years. He is known for his research and work on Chattrapati Shivaji Maharaj. (Image Source: IANS)

    6 / 13

    Padma Bhushan: Kuldip Nayar (Literature & Education - Journalism) (Posthumous): Starting out as an Urdu press reporter, Nayar then went on to become the Delhi bureau editor of the iconic English newspaper The Statesman. He had been in the forefront of covering the from the 1971 Indo-Pak war for the liberation of Bangladesh to the infamous Emergency of 1975. (Image Source: IANS)

    7 / 13

    Padma Bhushan: Cisco executive chairman John Chambers US (Foreigner) – Trade & Industry-Technology: American multinational conglomerate Cisco Systems manufactures and sells IT and telecommunications networking hardware and software. (Photo: IANS/Twitter @JohnTChambers)

    8 / 13

    Padma Bhushan: Bachendri Pal (Sports - Mountaineering): The 64-year-old legendary mountaineer, who became the first Indian woman to reach the summit of Mount Everest in 1984, has been bestowed with the honour for "distinguished service of a high order". (Image Source: Stock Image)

    9 / 13

    Padma Shri: Gautam Gambhir (Sports - Cricket): The World Cup-winning cricketer, Gambhir, 37, played match-winning knocks in the finals of India's World T20 win in 2007 and the 2011 World Cup title triumph in 2011. (Image Source: IANS)

    10 / 13

    Padma Shri: Sunil Chhetri (Sports - Football): The 34-year-old Chhetri has led the Indian football team with distinction for over a decade now, and is the all-time highest scorer in the country. (Image Source: IANS)

    11 / 13

    Padma Shri: Bajrang Punia: Bajrang Punia is a World Championship silver and bronze medallist besides winning gold at Asian Games and Commonwealth Games in 2018. (Photo Courtesy: UWW)

    12 / 13

    Padma Shri: Manoj Bajpayee (Acting - Art): Bajpayee, known for his movies Satya and Gangs of Wasseypur, is one of the three actors to be conferred with the Padma Shri award this year. (Image Source: IANS)

    13 / 13

    Padma Shri: Kader Khan (Art - Acting-Films) (Posthumous): Kader Khan, who was born in Kabul, made his debut in acting with Daag, starting Rajesh Khanna in the lead role. The award will be conferred posthumously to Khan who recently passed away at the age of 81. (Photo: IANS)

    Check out our in-depth Market Coverage, Business News & get real-time Stock Market Updates on CNBC-TV18. Also, Watch our channels CNBC-TV18, CNBC Awaaz and CNBC Bajar Live on-the-go!
    arrow down

      Most Read

      Market Movers

      View All