Homeindia News

    Check out UGC's Fake University List 2020

    Check out UGC's Fake University List 2020

    Check out UGC's Fake University List 2020
    Profile image

    By CNBCTV18.COM IST (Updated)


    The University Grants Commission (UGC) has released a list of twenty-four fake universities in the nation.

    On Wednesday, the statutory body of Ministry of Education, University Grants Commission (UGC) released a list of twenty four "self-styled, unrecognised institutions" in the country.
    With maximum number of these universities operating from Uttar Pradesh, the UGC classified them as "fake". In a statement, the Secretary of UGC Rajnish Jain said,"Students and public are informed that currently 24 self-styled, unrecognised institutions are functioning in contravention of the UGC Act, which have been declared as fake universities and these are not empowered to confer any degree."
    Out of the total 24, eight of these universities hail from Uttar Pradesh, the list includes Varanaseya Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya, Varanasi; Mahila Gram Vidyapith, Allahabad; Gandhi Hindi Vidyapith, Allahabad; National University of Electro Complex Homeopathy, Kanpur; Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Open University, Aligarh; Uttar Pradesh Vishwavidyalaya, Mathura; Maharana Pratap Shiksha Niketan Vishwavidyalaya, Pratapgarh and Indraprastha Shiksha Parishad, Noida.
    "Regarding Bharitya Shiksha Parishad, Lucknow, the matter is sub-judice before district judge in Lucknow", Jain added.
    Followed by Uttar Pradesh, Delhi witnessed seven fake universities namely-Commercial University Ltd, United Nations University, Vocational University, ADR Centric Juridicial University, Indian Institution of Science and Engineering, Vishwakarma Open University for Self Employment and Adhyatmik Vishwavidyalaya (Spiritual University).
    Odisha and West Bengal observed two such "fake" universities each. These include -Indian Institute of Alternative Medicine, Kolkata; Institute of Alternative Medicine and Research, Kolkata; Nababharat Shiksha Parishad, Rourkela and North Orissa University of Agriculture and Technology.
    States like Karnataka, Kerala, Puducherry and Maharashtra have one fake university each. These are  Sree Bodhi Academy of Higher Education, Puducherry; Christ New Testament Deemed University, Andhra Pradesh; Raja Arabic University, Nagpur; St John's University, Kerala and Badaganvi Sarkar World Open University Education Society, Karnataka.
    "The UGC Act, 1956 provides that a degree can be awarded, only by a university established under a central, state, provincial Act or an institution especially empowered by an Act of Parliament to confer the degree", Jain informed.
    -with PTI inputs
    arrow down

      Market Movers

      View All