NIFTY 50

5 of 7 nations hit by US travel ban are majority Muslim

Updated : June 28, 2018 01:44 PM IST

The seven nations under the Trump administration's travel ban — upheld by the US Supreme Court — include five majority Muslim countries, prompting dissenting Justice Sonia Sotomayor to assert that the entry restrictions were motivated by "animus toward the Muslim faith." The administration cites security concerns.
The list includes countries with a hostile relationship with Washington, such as North Korea, Iran and Syria. Others, such as Somalia and Yemen, are considered hotbeds of Islamic militant activity.
Most of the nations have yet to officially react to the court's decision on the ban.
5 of 7 nations hit by US travel ban are majority Muslim
primo org
Have you signed up for Primo, our daily newsletter?
It has all the stories and data on the market, business, economy and tech that you need to know.
cnbc two logos
To keep watching CNBC-TV18, India's No. 1 English Business News Channel, call your Cable or DTH Operator and subscribe now for just Rs. 4 per month. You can also subscribe to CNBC-TV18 Prime HD for Re 1/- per month.Find out more

You May Also Like

Live TV