homeaviation News

Amid Ethiopia crash probe, here is the list of countries banning B 737 MAX planes

Amid Ethiopia crash probe, here is the list of countries banning B-737 MAX planes

Amid Ethiopia crash probe, here is the list of countries banning B-737 MAX planes
Profile image

By CNBC-TV18 Mar 12, 2019 11:43:20 PM IST (Updated)

A number of countries have banned Boeing's 737 MAX 8 aircraft from their airspace in response to the Ethiopian Airlines crash that killed all 157 people on board, and several individual airlines have grounded their B-737 MAX 8 aircraft.

Recommended Articles

View All

Many others are continuing to fly the aircraft pending an investigation into the crash and possible guidance from Boeing itself.
The Nairobi-bound plane was the same type as the Indonesian Lion Air jet that crashed in October, killing 189 passengers and crew and some officials have detected similarities between the two accidents.
There are some 350 of the 737 MAX 8 planes currently in service around the world.
Countries banning B-737 MAX planes
Australia on Tuesday barred Boeing 737 MAX planes from its airspace. Fiji Airways is the only 737 MAX operator affected by the Australian ban, according to Australia's Civil Aviation Safety Authority, as Singapore-based SilkAir's planes were already covered by a ban imposed by the city-state.
Britain's aviation regulator on Tuesday banned Boeing 737 MAX aircraft from the country's airspace. The UK Civil Aviation Authority said that "as precautionary measure" it had decided "to stop any commercial passenger flights from any operator arriving, departing or overflying UK airspace".
Beijing on Monday ordered domestic airlines to suspend operation of the Boeing 737 MAX 8, citing the two crashes. Noting "similarities" between the two incidents, China's Civil Aviation Administration said operation of the model would only resume after "confirming the relevant measures to effectively ensure flight safety".
Indonesia said it was grounding its 11 jets of the 737 MAX 8 type. Inspections of the aircraft would start on Tuesday and the planes would remain grounded until they were cleared by safety regulators, Director General of Air Transport Polana Pramesti told reporters.
Malaysia on Tuesday banned Boeing 737 MAX 8 aircraft from its airspace. No Malaysian carriers currently operate the model, the aviation authority said.
The Mongolian Civil Aviation Authority said on Facebook it had ordered the state carrier MIAT Mongolian Airlines to ground the sole Boeing 737 MAX 8 aircraft in its fleet.
Oman on Tuesday suspended takeoffs and landings by Boeing 737 MAX planes at its airports "until further notice".
Singapore's aviation regulator on Tuesday completely banned the use of Boeing 737 MAX aircraft in the country's airspace.
The French civil aviation authority said it had banned Boeing 737 MAX aircraft from France's airspace after a deadly crash of an Ethiopian plane of the same model.
Ireland banned Boeing 737 MAX planes from its airspace following a deadly crash in Ethiopia involving the US passenger jet, matching a move taken by other nations.
South Korea
South Korean airline Eastar Jet said it will suspend operations of its two Boeing 737 Max 8 planes, the same aircraft involved in the Ethiopian Airlines plane crash that killed 157 people.
Aviation regulator DGCA on Monday issued additional safety instructions to SpiceJet and Jet Airways for operating Boeing 737 MAX planes.
The pilot commanding the aircraft should have at least 1,000 hours of flying experience, according to the DGCA directions.
Turkish Airlines said it was suspending flights using its fleet of 12 Boeing 737 MAX aircraft following the deadly Ethiopian Airlines crash at the weekend.
Check out our in-depth Market Coverage, Business News & get real-time Stock Market Updates on CNBC-TV18. Also, Watch our channels CNBC-TV18, CNBC Awaaz and CNBC Bajar Live on-the-go!

Top Budget Opinions

    Most Read

    Market Movers

    View All
    Top GainersTop Losers